Qu’est-ce que la course d’orientation ?

Qu’est-ce que l’activité d’orientation ?

L’exercice s’est avéré si excitant qu’il a dû devenir un sport. Il se propage rapidement et il est facile de comprendre pourquoi – n’importe qui peut le faire.

1. Course d’orientation

Après la seconde guerre mondiale, la popularité de la course d’orientation est montée en flèche. À ce moment-là, les boussoles étaient devenues beaucoup plus fiables et pouvaient être utilisées assez facilement, contrairement aux boussoles maladroites et peu fiables utilisées par les premiers pionniers du sport.

2. Tout le monde peut le faire

Aujourd’hui, tout le monde peut participer à des courses d’orientation. Ils sont également un pilier des camps scouts et scouts féminins, un témoignage de l’accessibilité du sport. Au fur et à mesure que les orienteurs augmentent leurs compétences, leurs parcours augmentent également. Dans les parcours les plus difficiles, les gadgets technologiques tels que les GPS sont utiles et indispensables comme équipement des orienteurs.

Si vous envisagez d’apprendre le sport pour le plaisir, vous serez heureux de savoir que le sport s’adresse à toutes les personnes ou à la plupart des âges. Tant que vous êtes suffisamment en forme pour courir et que vous savez bien lire une carte, vous pouvez participer à cet événement pour le plaisir ou pour la compétition.

3. Événements

Les épreuves de sprint sont des épreuves de vitesse. Le but du jeu est de passer de la ligne de départ, à travers les points de contrôle et à la ligne d’arrivée aussi vite que possible. Il s’agit de l’un des types d’événements de course d’orientation les plus courants et peut être pratiqué individuellement ou en groupe.

Les épreuves de relais impliquent des équipes de concurrents qui prennent généralement un départ groupé . L’équipe avec le moins de temps total auquel le temps de chaque membre de l’équipe est ajouté au temps total est déclarée gagnante. Pour éviter l’agglutination des concurrents et l’accrochage de ceux qui précèdent, les équipes suivent généralement des itinéraires différents. Cela rend le jeu équitable pour toutes les personnes impliquées.

course d'orientation montée

Les événements de score donnent aux participants un temps défini pour visiter autant de points de contrôle que possible. Les points de contrôle peuvent être de scores différents. Si c’est le cas, alors le but du jeu est de récolter le plus de points possible. Les points peuvent varier en fonction de la difficulté à trouver les points.

Les événements nocturnes obligent les participants à naviguer dans le noir. Pour maintenir une visibilité acceptable, un équipement réfléchissant est utilisé. Ces cours sont stimulants mais amusants pour les passionnés d’orientation expérimentés. La plupart des grands événements de course d’orientation proposent des parcours nocturnes pour relever le défi.

Les événements à cordes impliquent l’utilisation d’une corde pour guider les participants le long des chemins. Il est utilisé par les enfants et les adultes qui découvrent le sport d’orientation. C’est un excellent moyen de s’initier à la voie de la course d’orientation.

4. Équipement

Afin de vous considérer comme un orienteur, vous devez avoir le bon équipement. Ces équipements comprennent des cartes, des boussoles, des équipements de course, des guêtres, des équipements GPS, des sacs à dos et des vêtements de course. Il existe également des chaussures à crampons spécialement conçues pour de tels événements. Mais généralement, n’importe quelle chaussure fera l’affaire tant qu’elle résiste par mauvais temps et offre une bonne traction même lorsqu’elle est mouillée. La tenue de course d’orientation peut être en nylon ou en lycra. Les guêtres aident les passionnés à lutter contre les démangeaisons et les sous-bois et les arbustes gênants. En dehors de cela, tout ce dont vous avez besoin, ce sont les cartes et les boussoles pour vous orienter.

Qu’est-ce qu’une boussole d’orientation ?

Une boussole d’orientation est un dispositif d’orientation de carte circulaire avec un cadran rotatif, abritant les marques d’un compas magnétique. La boussole d’orientation a été développée pour le sport et est utilisée dans la course d’orientation et la navigation. Il diffère d’un compas magnétique standard en ce qu’il a des graduations (souvent des degrés) imprimées ou gravées sur le cadran pour permettre la mesure des relèvements à partir d’une carte. L’autre différence principale est qu’une boussole d’orientation a deux flèches distinctes, l’une indiquant le relèvement actuellement défini sur le cadran et l’autre pointant dans la direction du voyage.

ski d'orientation

Une boussole d’orientation appelée aussi « boussole de carte » et parfois appelée « boussole à main », est une boussole à usage spécial conçue pour être utilisée par les orienteurs, les personnes qui participent au sport de la course d’orientation. Les boussoles d’orientation n’ont généralement que trois échelles : nord-sud (la direction dans laquelle vous vous déplacez en marchant), est-ouest (la direction dans laquelle vous vous déplacez lorsque vous conduisez ou prenez les transports en commun) et la déclinaison.

L’objectif principal d’une boussole d’orientation est de permettre à l’utilisateur de lire une carte puis de suivre cette carte sans se perdre.

Les différents types de boussoles d’orientation

Il existe deux principaux types de boussoles d’orientation – une boussole magnétique et une boussole GPS . Chaque type de boussole a ses propres caractéristiques et défauts.

Le GPS ou Global Positioning System est un système de navigation pour toute personne ayant accès aux signaux satellites GPS. Il utilise les informations pour déterminer la position exacte du récepteur. Le GPS peut être utilisé par les randonneurs, les campeurs, les pilotes et d’autres personnes qui passent du temps loin des zones peuplées. Une boussole GPS est un appareil électronique qui affiche votre position sur une carte en utilisant le GPS pour suivre votre position. Il n’a pas besoin de points de référence externes pour la navigation.

Un compas magnétique est un instrument utilisé pour la navigation en l’alignant avec les lignes de champ magnétique de la Terre. Lorsque vous vous dirigez vers les pôles, le pôle Nord se rapproche du sol jusqu’à ce qu’il le touche au pôle lui-même. Le champ magnétique terrestre s’affaiblit à mesure que l’on s’éloigne des pôles, ce qui rend la navigation plus difficile à l’aide d’un seul compas magnétique. Une boussole à l’équateur pointerait vers le bas ; cependant, ce problème peut être résolu en plaçant un petit aimant à l’intérieur ou à proximité de votre boussole, ce qui lui permettra de continuer à fonctionner à des latitudes plus élevées comme le Canada ou la Russie, où le Nord peut être vers le haut, mais il pointe vers un côté au lieu d’être droit vers le haut.

personne montrant une boussole en noir et blanc

Comment utiliser une boussole d’orientation

Une boussole d’orientation est utilisée pour localiser des objets en alignant la face de la boussole avec le terrain. Les cartes topographiques sont utilisées avec la boussole pour déterminer la direction et l’emplacement. La boussole d’orientation est largement utilisée par les experts en survie, militaires, géologues, géomètres et autres nécessitant une navigation précise.

La partie « course d’orientation » de ce type de boussole vient de son utilisation en course d’orientation, un sport qui allie randonnée et lecture de carte pour trouver des points au sol. La boussole doit être maintenue à niveau ou légèrement inclinée vers le bas pour prendre une lecture précise. Pour une utilisation générale, la boussole peut être horizontale ou inclinée vers le bas. Pour prendre une mesure précise, vous devez niveler votre boussole jusqu’à ce qu’elle indique 0 degré. Il n’est pas nécessaire de le tenir à un angle très précis tant que vous enregistrez avec précision votre position de départ.

La meilleure technique consiste à déplacer lentement votre main tout en surveillant le changement de direction de l’aiguille. Lorsque vous voyez un léger changement de direction de l’aiguille, arrêtez de bouger votre main et gardez-la immobile jusqu’à ce que vous ayez enregistré le degré exact indiqué par l’aiguille sur le cadran. Si vous utilisez une carte, placez une feuille de papier dessus et regardez d’un point de repère à l’autre à travers votre objectif.

Qu’est-ce que la course d’orientation ?

La course d’orientation est un sport qui consiste en un parcours, ou « parcours d’orientation », qui peut être aussi court que quelques centaines de mètres ou aussi long que plusieurs kilomètres. Il peut inclure des passages à niveau ou se limiter à des zones principalement hors route. Les concurrents doivent passer les contrôles (postes de contrôle) dans le bon ordre et dans un délai déterminé.

La course d’orientation est une activité humaine ancienne. Les archives des événements compétitifs remontent au 17ème siècle. La course d’orientation fait partie des Jeux Mondiaux depuis 1991 et des Jeux Mondiaux Militaires depuis 1995. Elle est reconnue par le CIO (Comité International Olympique).

Aujourd’hui, il existe des fédérations nationales dans plus de 80 pays avec quelque 300 000 membres individuels. La plupart d’entre eux sont en Europe (surtout en Scandinavie), mais il existe aussi des fédérations sur tous les continents habités. Le sport est particulièrement populaire chez les jeunes en Asie.

La course d’orientation est présentée en trois catégories d’âge : junior (12-18 ans), senior (19-39 ans) et vétéran (40-59 ans). Les délais sont modulés en fonction de la catégorie d’âge. Par exemple, dans les épreuves masculines élites, le temps limite pour les 18 – 39 ans est de 40 minutes par parcours.

Le but de la course d’orientation est de trouver des points de contrôle sur une carte en séquence le plus rapidement possible. Le concurrent avec le temps total le plus court pour l’itinéraire prévu est le gagnant.

En quoi est-ce différent des autres sports ?

L’ orientation est un sport et une activité récréative qui est bien plus qu’une simple course à pied et qui se pratique à l’extérieur. C’est un sport non numérique qui vous oblige à réfléchir et à utiliser votre carte et votre boussole. Vous devez étudier la carte, comprendre les commandes, puis vous diriger vers ces commandes le plus rapidement possible. La course d’orientation est autant mentale que physique car il faut comprendre le parcours avant de se lancer à la recherche des points de contrôle.

personne tenant une boussole en argent

La principale différence entre la course d’orientation et la plupart des autres sports est la maîtrise de la carte et de la boussole. Un certain nombre de courses à pied utilisent une carte et une boussole, mais elles ne les utilisent pas de la même manière que les coureurs d’orientation les utilisent. En fait, les orienteurs se réfèrent souvent aux «courses d’orientation» comme des courses où les concurrents n’utilisent pas les bonnes techniques de navigation.

Il existe plusieurs variantes de courses d’orientation avec des règles différentes qui se traduisent par des distances parcourues différentes; cependant, tous nécessitent des compétences en lecture de cartes qui peuvent être acquises par toute personne désireuse d’acquérir les compétences nécessaires à ce sport. Les compétences requises pour la course d’orientation comprennent : suivre un itinéraire sur une carte topographique, utiliser une boussole, naviguer à pied sur un terrain inconnu, faire des choix d’itinéraire en fonction de ce que vous voyez devant vous au sol, être capable de sélectionner le terrain approprié.

Comment apprécier et réussir le sport d’orientation

La course d’orientation est un sport qui teste vos capacités mentales, physiques et de navigation. Cela peut être fait comme une course ou comme une activité récréative. Pour réussir la course d’orientation, il faut être en bonne forme physique, alerte mentalement et avoir d’excellentes aptitudes à la navigation. La course d’orientation consiste à utiliser une carte pour naviguer d’un point à un autre sous différentes contraintes de temps.

La course d’orientation est peut-être l’un des sports les plus agréables au monde. Non seulement c’est amusant, mais c’est aussi bon pour vous ! Il améliore votre condition physique générale et vous aide à penser plus clairement et à réagir plus rapidement. Plus important encore, la course d’orientation peut être amusante pour les personnes de tous âges et de toutes capacités.

La course d’orientation est un excellent moyen de rester actif

Il y a plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles la course d’orientation est un excellent sport polyvalent. D’une part, c’est une activité à faible impact qui ne sollicite pas beaucoup votre corps. C’est aussi une façon amusante de sortir et de profiter du grand air, ce qui en fait un bon choix pour les personnes sédentaires depuis un certain temps.

La meilleure partie de la course d’orientation est qu’il s’agit d’une activité à laquelle tout le monde peut participer, quel que soit son niveau de condition physique, son âge ou son expérience. En fait, la course d’orientation est souvent utilisée comme outil d’entraînement par des coureurs expérimentés à la recherche de moyens de développer leur endurance sans risquer de se blesser.

photographie en contre-plongée de deux hommes jouant à côté de deux femmes

Un autre avantage d’essayer ce sport est qu’il offre la possibilité d’une compétition amicale avec vos amis. Vous pouvez tester vos compétences contre d’autres tout en relevant différents défis. Si vous aimez gagner des badges ou d’autres formes de reconnaissance pour avoir accompli des tâches, alors vous allez adorer cet aspect de la course d’orientation.

fr.aeorienteering.com est pris en charge par le lecteur. Lorsque vous achetez via des liens sur notre site, nous pouvons gagner une commission d'affiliation.

aeorienteering.com participates in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to products on Amazon.com. Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc, or its affiliates.

aeorienteering.com is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Orienteering t-shirts

What is orienteering activity?

The exercise turned out to be so exciting that it had to graduate into a sport. It is quickly catching on and it is easy to see why – anyone can do it.

1. Orienteering

After the second world war, the popularity of orienteering skyrocketed. By then compasses had become a lot more reliable and could be used fairly easily as opposed to the clunky and unreliable compasses used by the early pioneers of the sport.

2. Anyone Can Do It

Today, anyone can join orienteering events. They are also a mainstay of Boy Scout and Girl Scout camporees a testament to the accessibility of the sport. As orienteers increase in skill so do their courses. In the tougher course, technological gadgets such as GPSs come in handy and are indispensable as the orienteers’ equipment.

If you are planning on learning the sport for enjoyment, you will be glad to know that the sport is for all people or most ages. As long as you are fit enough to run and can read a map well enough then you can join this event for fun or for competition.

3. Events

Sprint events are speed events. The goal of the game is to get from the starting line, through the control points, and to the finish line as fast as possible. This is one of the most common types of orienteering events and can be participated in by individuals or by groups.

Hydro Jacket

Storm protection for the minimalist with outstanding protection and breathability

Strong Trekking Poles

#1 Trekking Poles for nearly everyone.

Light Trekking Poles

Best Affordable Carbon Pole - Backpacker Magazine

Relay events involve teams of competitors that usually take a mass start. The team with the least total time each team member’s time is added to the total time is declared the winner. To avoid clumping of competitors and the dogging of those ahead teams usually follow different routes. This makes the game fair for all those involved.

mounted orienteering

Score events give participants a set time to visit as many control points as possible. The control points may be of differing scores. If this is so, then the object of the game is to garner as many points as possible. The points may vary depending on the difficulty of finding the points.

Night events force the participants to navigate in the dark. To keep visibility acceptable reflective gear is used. These courses are challenging yet fun for experienced orienting enthusiasts. Many of the major orienteering events have night courses to spruce up the challenge.

String events involve the use of a string to guide the participants along paths. This is used by children and adults who are new to orienteering sport. It is a great way to get initiated in the way of the orienteer.

4. Gear

In order to properly consider yourself an orienteers man, you should have the proper gear. Such gears include maps, compasses, running gear, gaiters, GPS equipment, backpacks, and running attire. There are also cleated shoes that are specially designed for such events. But typically, any shoe will do as long as it holds out in evil weather, and gives good traction even when wet. Orienteering attire can be made of nylon or lycra. Gaiters help enthusiasts battle itchy and troublesome undergrowth and shrubs. Other than that, all you need are the maps and compasses to get your bearings.

What is an orienteering compass?

An orienteering compass is a circular map-orienting device with a rotating dial, housing the markings of a magnetic compass. The orienteering compass was developed for sport and is used in orienteering and navigation. It differs from a standard magnetic compass in that it has graduations (often degrees) printed or engraved on the dial to allow the measurement of bearings from a map. The other main difference is that an orienteering compass has two separate arrows, one showing the bearing currently set on the dial, and the other pointing in the direction of travel.

ski orienteering

An orienteering compass also called a “map compass” and sometimes referred to as a “hand compass,” is a special-purpose compass designed for use by orienteers, people who participate in the sport of orienteering. Orienteering compasses generally have only three scales: north-south (the direction you move while walking), east-west (the direction you move when driving or taking public transportation), and declination.

The primary purpose of an orienteering compass is to allow the user to read a map and then follow that map without getting lost.

The different kinds of orienteering compasses

There are two main types of orienteering compasses – a magnetic compass and a GPS compass. Each type of compass has its own characteristics and flaws.

GPS or Global Positioning System is a navigation system for anyone with access to GPS satellite signals. It uses the information to determine the exact position of the receiver. GPS can be used by hikers, campers, pilots, and other people who spend time away from populated areas. A GPS compass is an electronic device that displays your position on a map by using GPS to track your location. It does not need any external reference points for navigation.

A magnetic compass is an instrument used for navigation by aligning it with the Earth’s magnetic field lines. When you travel towards the poles, the North Pole gets closer to the ground until it touches it at the pole itself. The Earth’s magnetic field gets weaker as you go farther away from the poles, which makes navigating more difficult using a magnetic compass only. A compass at the equator would point straight down; however, this problem can be solved by placing a small magnet inside or near your compass which will allow it to continue functioning at higher latitudes like Canada or Russia where the North may be up but it points off toward one side instead of straight up.

person showing black and white compass

How to use an orienteering compass

An orienteering compass is used to locate objects by aligning the compass face with the terrain. Topographic maps are used along with the compass to determine direction and location. The orienteering compass is widely used by survival experts, military, geologists, surveyors, and others requiring precise navigation.

The “orienteering” part of this type of compass comes from its use in orienteering, a sport that combines hiking and map reading to find points on the ground. The compass must be held level or angled slightly downward to take an accurate reading. For general use, the compass can be either level or angled downward. To take an accurate measurement, you must level your compass until it reads 0 degrees. It is not necessary to hold it at a very precise angle as long as you record your starting position accurately.

The best technique is to move your hand slowly while watching for a change in direction of the needle. When you see a slight change in direction of the needle, stop moving your hand and keep it still until you have recorded the exact degree indicated by the needle on the dial. If using a map, place a piece of paper over it and sight from one landmark to another through your lens.

What is orienteering sport?

Orienteering is a sport that consists of a route, or “orienteering course”, which can be as short as a few hundred meters or as long as several kilometers. It may include road crossings, or it may be restricted to areas that are mostly off-road. The competitors must visit controls (checkpoints) in the correct order and within a specified time limit.

Orienteering is an ancient human activity. Records of competitive events date back to the 17th century. Orienteering has been included in the World Games since 1991 and the World Military Games since 1995. It is recognized by the IOC (International Olympic Committee).

Today, there are national federations in more than 80 countries with some 300,000 individual members. Most of them are in Europe (especially Scandinavia), but there are also federations on every inhabited continent. The sport is especially popular among young people in Asia.

Orienteering is presented in three age categories: junior (12-18 years old), senior (19-39 years old), and veteran (40-59 years old). Time limits are adjusted according to age category. For example, in elite men’s events, the time limit for 18 – 39-year-olds is 40 minutes per course.

The goal of orienteering is to find control points on a map in sequence as quickly as possible. The competitor with the shortest total time for the planned route is the winner.

How it is different from other sports?

Orienteering is a sport and a recreational activity that is so much more than just running and it is done outside. It is a non-digital sport that requires you to think and use your map and compass. You must study the map, figure out the controls and then navigate your way to those controls as fast as possible. Orienteering is as much mental as it is physical as you need to understand the route before setting out to find the control points.

person holding silver compass

The main difference between orienteering and most other sports is the map and compass skills. A number of running races use a map and compass but they are not using them in the same way as orienteers use them. In fact, orienteers often refer to “orienteering races” as races where competitors do not use proper navigation techniques.

There are several variations of orienteering races with different rules that result in different distances covered; however, all of them require map reading skills that can be learned by anyone willing to learn the skill set needed for this sport. The skills required for orienteering include: following a route on a topographic map, using a compass, navigating on foot over unfamiliar terrain, making route choices based on what you see ahead of you on the ground, being able to select appropriate terrain.

How to enjoy and succeed at orienteering sport

Orienteering is a sport that tests your mental, physical, and navigational skills. It can be done as a race or as a recreational activity. To succeed at orienteering, you have to be physically fit, mentally alert and have excellent navigational skills. Orienteering involves using a map to navigate from point to point under different time constraints.

Orienteering may be one of the most enjoyable sports on earth. Not only is it fun, but it’s also good for you! It improves your general fitness and it helps you think more clearly and react more quickly. Most importantly, orienteering can be fun for people of all ages and abilities.

Orienteering sport is a great way to stay active

There are many reasons that orienteering is a great all-around sport. For one thing, it’s a low-impact activity that doesn’t put a lot of strain on your body. It’s also a fun way to get outside and enjoy the great outdoors, which makes it a good choice for individuals who have been sedentary for a while.

The best part about orienteering is that it’s an activity anyone can take part in regardless of fitness level, age or experience. In fact, orienteering is often used as a training tool by experienced runners looking for ways to build endurance without risking injury.

low-angle photography of two men playing beside two women

Another benefit of trying out this sport is that it offers the chance for friendly competition with your friends. You get to test your skills against others while completing different challenges. If you enjoy earning badges or other forms of recognition for completing tasks, then you will love this aspect of orienteering.

Blog

Where Did Orienteering Originate?

Where did orienteering originate? The sport has a fascinating history. Its roots are rooted in the military, where it was first used to train soldiers for land navigation. The practice was popularised in the 1930s Read more…

What is an Orienteering Activity?

What is an Orienteering Activity? Orienteering involves following a course to reach the control point. To accomplish this, you must visit all the controls in numerical order. Moreover, you should take note of the control Read more…

Orienteering in Europe

Orienteering in Europe Orienteering is a sport that combines elements of running and hiking. The Nordic countries have long been the epicenter of orienteering. While there are many different disciplines of orienteering, there is also Read more…

Orienteering in the UK

Orienteering in the UK British Orienteering, otherwise known as British Orienteering, is a sport that has become popular across the world. As the national governing body for the sport, it is important to follow the Read more…

The Sport of Orienteering

The Sport of Orienteering Orienteering is a group of sports that require participants to move quickly through unfamiliar terrain. These games require the use of a topographic map to find control points. Participants are given Read more…

Exploring City Orienteering

Exploring City Orienteering The Orienteering, from the French for “Orient”, is a form of city planning in which one proposes a map that shows the route of a large number of people through a large Read more…

Compass For Orienteering

Compass For Orienteering How to use a compass for orienteering is something that is taught in a course in a high school or university, but it’s not very common. Most orienteers that go out without Read more…

Basics of Orienteering

The basics of orienteering can be obtained in a variety of ways. There are guides and training courses that could provide you with the knowledge that you need to be able to enjoy your hobby, Read more…

Orienteering Training Exercises

Orienteering Training Exercises The exercises in orienteering training can help you understand how the course will be a great experience. Not every training course is appropriate for all people, so make sure that you research Read more…